About Me

My photo
Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
I am a lawyer in Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada who enjoys reading, especially mysteries. Since 2000 I have been writing personal book reviews. This blog includes my reviews, information on and interviews with authors and descriptions of mystery bookstores I have visited. I strive to review all Saskatchewan mysteries. Other Canadian mysteries are listed under the Rest of Canada. As a lawyer I am always interested in legal mysteries. I have a separate page for legal mysteries. Occasionally my reviews of legal mysteries comment on the legal reality of the mystery. You can follow the progression of my favourite authors with up to 15 reviews. Each year I select my favourites in "Bill's Best of ----". As well as current reviews I am posting reviews from 2000 to 2011. Below my most recent couple of posts are the posts of Saskatchewan mysteries I have reviewed alphabetically by author. If you only want a sentence or two description of the book and my recommendation when deciding whether to read the book look at the bold portion of the review. If you would like to email me the link to my email is on the profile page.

Thursday, June 5, 2014

2014 Arthur Ellis Awards for Canadian Crime Fiction

Congratulations to the Winners of the

2014 Arthur Ellis Awards

Best Novel

Seán Haldane, The Devil’s Making, Stone Flower Press
Best First Novel

J. Kent Messum, Bait, Penguin Canada
Best Novella

Melodie Campbell, The Goddaughter’s Revenge, Orca Books
Best Short Story

Twist Phelan, Footprints in Water, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine

Best Book in French

Maureen Martineau,
L’enfant promis, La courte échelle

Best Juvenile/YA
Elizabeth MacLeod, Bones Never Lie, Annick Press
 Best Unpublished First Novel (Unhanged Arthur)
Rachel Greenaway, Cold Girl
The above winners were announced at the annual banquet in Toronto earlier tonight.
There was an additional award. As set out on the Crime Writers of Canada home web page:
This is the inaugural year of the CWC Grand Master Award, intended to recognize Canadian crime writers who have a substantial body of work that has garnered national and international recognition.
This year’s winner of the CWC Grand Master Award is Howard Engel, the author of the award winning Benny Cooperman detective series. A mainstay of the Canadian crime writing scene for many years, Mr. Engel helped put Canadian crime writing on the on the map at a time when few mysteries were set in this country.
While it has been quite awhile since I read any of the Benny Cooperman series I remember Benny as a uniquely Canadian character. A special congratulations to Howard Engel.


  1. Congratulations, indeed, Bill. Thanks for sharing this.

    1. Margot: Thanks for the comment. I have read two of the books on the shortlist for Best Novel and am working on a third. The winner was one of the two I do not have at this time though I hope to have them shortly.

  2. Bill, it is very cool that Howard Engel won the first Grand Master Award. I have only read two of his but I have more and plan to read them.

  3. TracyK: Thanks for the comment. It has been too long since I read a Benny Cooperman mystery. I am going to have read another as part of the 8th Canadian Book Challenge.